Posted by: miilee | March 8, 2010

Here’s to the Men


As a child, I’d been taught one really important thing; acknowledging everyone who has been a part of your success; saying “Thank you”.

And I think I owe a big Thank you to most of the men in our society. There couldn’t be a better day to do this than today, the International Women’s Day.  Today has been set aside as a dedication to all the women folk of the world to celebrate our achievements in whatever field we’ve made a name in.

Yes, I’m really glad we as women have made it this far and I also know that there is still a long way to go for a lot of us. But at this juncture, I want to take a pause and from the bottom of my heart, want to thank the men folk in my life.

I know a lot of women who would scoff at that and say that men were the root of most of the world’s problems. I’d beg to differ. I know there are some men who are a waste of human life but then I know some women too who’d fit that description perfectly. There are bad ones on both sides.

But today, since we’re celebrating the better of women; I’m gonna thank the better of men.

Here are a few reasons why:

1. Being a man in this world must be one hell of a task. What with cagey women declaring that all men are bastards and labeling men as sex-predators etc, it sure must be tough keeping your self-image intact and becoming men of beautiful character and great caliber. I personally know some male friends who have patiently sat through some brutal male bashing sessions and just smiled in response. I want to thank every such man for listening to all that frustrated spleen venting and still being around when we need change to pay the cab.

2. I know that we women folk can be a real pain. From car driving nightmares and PMS to emotional wreaks and hormonal imbalances, I know we do give you guys a fare few grey hairs. I want to thank all those men who have stuck by us through all of it; comforted us when we desperately needed a shoulder to cuddle into. There is nothing as soothing as someone reassuring us and telling us that everything is gonna be fine. Thanks for doing that even when things are far from fine.

3. I’ve heard scores of women whining. But barely have I come across men who whine. We whine and complain about everything! This is not good, that is not perfect, plans are ruined, table-cloth is creased etc. I know it can be irritating. You guys take up jobs you hate without a complaint, just because they bring in a little more cash back. You take a lot of stress for our sake.  I want to thank you for putting up with most of our cribbing for as long as you can and still doing so many things for us without complaining; just to make us happier.

4. There are so many jobs out there that men have been doing for years without complaining. So many jobs that we know we don’t need to put our heads into and know that they’ll get done. The tough jobs, the heavy lifting jobs, the brave jobs, the technical and tedious jobs. There have been firemen risking their lives and army men protecting our borders. We kept those expectations of you folks and you lived up to them magnificently. You men have been doing all this without a squeak about equal treatment. I want to thank you for that.

5. You guys have been around whenever we’ve needed you. As fathers, brothers, uncles, friends, husbands, sons, nephews etc. When there is a cockroach running around at our feet, you’ve taken up the task of swatting it amidst our deafening shrieking. You’ve been there to drive us home from late night parties. You’ve watched out for us in crowded busses and railway stations. You’ve played protector even when we’ve been making a hullabaloo about equal rights.

You’ve tolerated a lot of our more nonsensical idiosyncrasies and still loved us. Thanks for that.

Life without you guys would have been different; NOT in a good way. I’ve heard all those sarcastic and ironic quotes about a world without men. But I’d rather have the imperfect and beautiful world that we have now than the perfect and boring fantasy of a completely feminine world.

They say behind every successful man, there is a woman. I’d say for every happy woman, there is a man watching out for her.

I don’t know if I’ve managed to convey my message or not but I hope that you get what I’m trying to say. I am simply thankful that whenever creation decided to place human life on this planet, it placed men and women as companions. You guys have been one hell of a great company! So, Here’s to you!

Cheers!

Responses

  1. mast hain ekdum 🙂 cheers! and, happy women”s day to you as well.. nature’s equation is simple.. yin-yan 🙂

    • Thanks alok… 🙂

  2. Chalo kisi ne to aj k din apun logo k liye post likha.. nice write up gurl.. Cheers !!

    • thanks vasu… 🙂

  3. 🙂 i just wanna hug you 🙂

    • *hugs* back.. 🙂

  4. i also hope this blog.kind of creates a stir and makes a day for us too..like MENS DAY 🙂

    • hahaha… i don’t think either of us need any day.. 🙂

  5. n thats a feel gud post for all men !!!

    Just to say… a father is father coz mother exists !!
    There s no role that men play alone !!
    Everything s defined coz we both exist !!

    • I kno i kno… but a father is just as essential to us as a mother.. so when we do have women’s days and mother’s days, let’s spare the gentlemen a thought..

  6. HAPPY WOMEN’S DAY TO U!!! =D

    Loved the post… and gr8 job with the writing as always!!

    • thanks ishan!! 🙂

  7. Great going Miilee… You have definitely conveyed your message in a great manner… Keep it up! 🙂

    and yeah… Happy Women’s Day to you! 🙂

    • thanks Parag.. 🙂 glad you liked it..

  8. Hey Miilee

    Great work! OMG! what a blog post! Loved it! Read it a couple of times now! Sure would do it again! I like this phrase of the post the most! “for every happy woman, there is a man watching out for her.”

    And lucky the guys around you! There is some girl who acknowledges what they do 😛

    Great post! Keep writing!

    Cheers
    Sanjay

    • thanks sanjay….. and men and women are equal creations. if we celebrate the women, the men too should be thanked… 🙂

      • 🙂 *Bows down to you* 🙂

      • lol!!! thanks!!! u liked it THAT much??

      • Was this a reply to me?? Then yes I did! 🙂 Even if it was not a reply to me! Still I liked it! 🙂

      • it was a reply to you… n thanks again…

  9. Yeah.. When you r happy.. thank god for creating men
    wen you are angery… thank god for creatin men with balls, to knock it off… 😛
    and its also the other way round.. even we have all praises for women… n feel lucky to have them around…. 🙂

    • lol.. thanks Micheal… 🙂

  10. Hey,

    Great post. Good to know that Men are still an appreciated lot!

    • 🙂 we’re all equal… so if women are being celebrated, i see no reason why men shouldn’t be thanked.. 🙂

  11. Haha…true and nice…very few acknowledge this. well written.

    • thanks bro!! thought of you and K da while writing this..

  12. i reiterate 🙂 well written 😛

    • lol! yeh hui na baat!! hehehe… thanks sooo much..!!

  13. well…Happy Women’s Day. but not all men deserves the words you expressed here. Atleast not Laalu & Mulayam.

    • That’s why I said right at the beginning… celebrating the best of women and thanking THE BEST OF MEN…. those two fall in neither categories…

  14. Wow, it’s a great read Milee!

    “But I’d rather have the imperfect and beautiful world that we have now than the perfect and boring fantasy of a completely feminine world.”

    Awesome!

    Appreciate the insights. Yeah, it’s not the gender that made a person good or bad; it’s what they’re made off with, inside n out 🙂

    Cheers!

    • I’m glad you dropped by to read this Roy… Thanks so much!

  15. lovely post miilee….you said it from the heart and I so agree with you. We sometimes take men for granted.

    • I know I like being cherished for what I am. I want them to feel good about being men too 🙂

  16. oh my god!! this is one of the best things i have read and oh so true! for once i have everything settled in the mess of thoughts that i move around with! yes, i want to thank all the men in my life for these and many more reasons. but most of all, thank you mili, you just unscrambled my brains! 😛

    • *hugs* thanks for reading dd!!

  17. Awesome post Miilee 🙂

    • Thanks Ranjeet…

  18. Hands down the best woman’s day post 🙂

    … and you’re welcome 🙂

    • 🙂 thanks for dropping by 🙂

  19. great post! sometimes we have such a conceited opinion about the opposite sex. this post opens one’s mind..
    cheers to everyone, i’ll say!!!

    • 🙂 I’m glad you’ve adopted such a fair attitude.. 🙂 reall.. Cheers to everyone!

  20. very nice post Miilee. Thank you for your appreciation

    • 🙂 It’s high time we adopted a fair attitude towards either sex. neither male nor female chauvinism… 🙂

  21. awsome post mili..! really good post abt the men n i think each n every man and woman should read this post..! at least you gotta know abt the men’s mind..

    • I’m glad you liked it Sharath… feel free to share any of my content…

  22. Hey Mille … i luckily stumbled across ur blog .. awesome post … shall make each one of my female friend read this 😛 keep up d gud work …

    • Lol! Glad you liked the post.. 🙂 Feel free to share it with anyone. I sincerely believe that in our quest to make an ‘equal’ society, we end up tilting the scales too much on either of the sides.. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

