Posted by: miilee | April 9, 2010

Of 21st Birthdays and Wide Wide Grins…


Ohk, I really really REALLY had to do this. I know.. I know, I’ve got exams and shit and I should be offline and studying like a good child (HA!) but the thing is… I’m NOT A CHILD ANY MORE!!!
Oh yeah that’s right!! I’m 21 today!! And despite the fact that I have exams going on, I still had an awesome day!! My phone has been ringing off the hook for like hours!! (Since midnight, last night actually) Friends, family, acquaintances, colleagues… calls and messages endlessly kept a huge grin on my face!!
All through my exam paper, I was grinning to myself… 21… feels oh so good!!
Then went out for lunch with a dear friend , had one hell of a time and got back home to special treatment from mom, sister (who has baked a cake, I can smell it but shall pretend to be surprised for her sake πŸ™‚ ) Β and dad.
Then got to facebook and twitter and returned more than a 100 different combinations of ‘thank-you’s’ to all the people who’d wished me.
Despite the fact that my paper wasn’t all that good or that I just typed out a record number of replies to wall posts, I am LOVING today!!
I mean, Screw everything else! I’m 21!!!!
Feels weirdly awesome!!!
You know, I had been cribbing since the time the exam time table came out that my 21st birthday would be ruined by the stupid exams. But the thing about 21st birthdays is that they tend to feel awesome despite all the other shit that takes place around! It is not about the exams or the wishes or the tension or about the ‘Shit!-I-Can’t-Have-A-Wild-Party’…
It is about ME!!!
Yayness!!!

Responses

  1. sweet post! πŸ™‚ wish i had felt that way on my 21st!! happy birthday πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Anubha…. And it’s ok… I guess I’m one of the very few freaks who thinks this way πŸ˜‰

  2. seems like u had an internal blast actually!! (ur happiness n u celebrating it in ur home with family is internal blast party!! πŸ˜› ) …god bless u..n yeahh…happy birthday once again πŸ˜‰

    • lol… true about the internal blast… thanks anyway!!

  3. Happy birthday Miilee!
    And most of all enjoy the adult life ahead!
    I too got to experience the “21” effect this March and it felt damn good!
    πŸ˜‰
    So I know what you are talking about!
    πŸ™‚

    • it’s supa cool na?? anyway thanks and belated wishes to you too!!

      • Cool?
        Its more than cool!
        I’m officially an adult!
        I’m entitled to everything in this world, except that I can’t apply for being an MP and a few related things. Its like freedom!
        πŸ™‚
        But I can also be jailed (the only disadvantage I saw), so I better watch my steps!
        πŸ˜‰
        And thanks.

      • Lol… I guess since the flip side of ‘rights’ ‘freedom’ and ‘power’ are ‘duties’ ‘self restrain’ and ‘responsibility’… so since we’re given the right to get drunk and have fun and have the freedom of all the thousand things, we are expected to be responsible enough not to misuse them and land our asses in the jail… πŸ˜‰ happy adulthood to us!!

      • Cheers to adulthood!
        πŸ™‚

      • Lol!! oh yeah!!

  4. Happy Belated B’Day milie… !!!!

    • yeah… rite… belated…. like after a hundred messages yesterday…. lol… thanks anyway… YET again…

  5. Many Happy returns of the day…a day late though…

    Good to know you had a good time..
    Gosh, I feel so old…can’t even remember my 21st Birthday πŸ™‚

    • lol!! thanks!! And I’m sure if you sit down and think of it, you’ll recollect ur 21st too.. πŸ™‚ happy days they are… birthdays..

  6. Happy Birthday!

    I really hope that you’ll realize soon that being 21 is not such a big deal :p

    • well, people told me that 18th b’days too are not a big deal and that you learn to forget them… but the deal is, i love birthdays… they are landmarks… and the 21st too is a landmark…. btw, i remember each birthday of mine, starting from the third… my mom is surprised at how clear my memory is.. πŸ˜‰ could mean i am an easy candidate for Alzheimer… πŸ˜›

  7. hey Happy beleted B’day….sorry i missed…..but seems like u had a blast! and ATB with ur exams…crack em!

    • Thankings!!! Many many!!!

  8. You can always rock out after your exams…!!! The whole year’s waiting for you to party, dear…!!! BTW, a belated Happy Birthday…!!! πŸ™‚

    • thanks!! I sure am gonna crack it after the 15th πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

