Posted by: miilee | December 22, 2010

Have You Ever…?


Have you ever confided in a tree?
Ever hugged it tight?
Ever leaned on a stout bark
Did it feel right?
Like a long lost friend’s hug
Even without the arms
The unfailing show of faith
trust without qualms.

Have you whispered to a river?
and heard her laugh back?
Ever trusted her judgement;
fulfilling where you lack?
Found answers in her ripples
when you lost your way?
Ever let her correct you,
when the world led you astray?

Have you ever cried on the shoulder
of a night, clear and starry?
and let him take your sobs,
when your dreams had gone awry?
Have you let him tell you tales
of worlds you’ve never seen?
Let him carry you far away
to a dreamland never been?

Have you shouted out with glee
in the ear of the breeze?
and shared his thrilling joy
even as you freeze?
Have you given him your hand
to caress with affections true?
Have you ever seen the world
from his point of view?

Its not too late for it all!
you are still breathing!
But now is the time for it;
shed that protective sheathing.
Heed the call of adventure;
No worry; no misgiving.
You get just one life;
So stop existing.. Start Living!

Image Thanks to Pixdaus.com

Responses

  1. Loved it. Didn’t know u r such a good poet. Great thought! Keep it up!

    • Yeah, well, I do write poems… Actually I think I’m better at poetry than pieces…. DO feel free to read the other poems on the blog.. πŸ™‚

  2. Nice poem! πŸ™‚ meaningful!

    • thanks.. glad you liked it!

  3. I do all these through my pen. πŸ™‚

    Nice lines. πŸ™‚

    • Lol..!! But try doing it for real too…. there are few tunes better than a wildly beating heart after a bungee jumping experience!!

  4. I would like to feature this poem in either May or June on my Poetic License series. Once a month I post great poetry that I find across the blogosphere. If you allow me to use your poem, you will get full credit and a link back to your site.

    Three times a year I will also be combining the previous four months into one large post. If you don’t mind please let me know. If you would like to see it, the first trimester will be posted on January 3rd with the poems from Sept-Dec of 2010.

    Here is the link to the December Poetic License (http://morningerection.wordpress.com/2010/12/13/poetic-license-4/) if you would like to see it before you decide. Thank you for your consideration, regardless of your decision.

    • Hey!
      First, Welcome to the blog! Took a look at yours.. interesting name and even more interesting content! I don’t mind you featuring my poem at all! Let me know when you do eventually put it up. πŸ™‚
      (And THANKS for ‘like’ing the post! Really few people do that!)

      • Thank you Miilee! I have added the poem to the May 2nd post. I will also try to remember to remind you closer to the May date.

      • I’ll mark a reminder.. πŸ™‚ Thanks again!

  5. AWESOMe is the word !!

    • Thanks ya! Glad you liked it!

  6. ek number ! loved it ! … u seem to be just getting better ! πŸ™‚
    everytime, i read you,.. i feel like going back home, sit & write something !
    been ages since am planning to start a blog !
    good work. keep it up, madame ! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Nikhil!

  7. great perceptions and seems you are quite a nature lover.

    • Thanks… and yes.. I am.. πŸ™‚

  8. wow! u r an awesome poet, so touching and meaningful..loved each thot and every line…extremely well written πŸ™‚

    keep writing…would come here back for sure!

    • thanks Sarah.. πŸ™‚ Glad you liked it…

  9. Loved it! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks ya!! Glad you liked it.. πŸ™‚

  10. Have you ever been told, that I love the way you’ve expressed your thoughts? Such a lovely poem, so simple. Love the flow! *thumbs up*

    • Thanks Priyanka!

  11. Hey Mille, You are simply stupendous !!
    Jus Luvd reading it ! KeeP us Inspiring πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Karthik… I’m glad People do like what I write here.. πŸ™‚

  12. Miilee! thats straight from the heart!! kuch toh hua hai..kuch ho gaya hai πŸ˜€
    Just kidding, wondeful write up my friend – loved every bit of it. Keep rocking!

    • Lol!! Kuch nahi hua hai… was sitting on a tree and wondered how many people spend their lives not even getting close to a tree… so wrote this.. πŸ™‚

  13. This is such a beautiful poem, Miilee. πŸ™‚
    And you know being an only child, I’ve actually caught myself doing most of these things.. πŸ™‚

    • Arushika, I was the eldest in the family so for the first four years of my life, I was pretty much the only kid and then when the little bundle joined me, she was too little to play with for two years… so for 6 years, I did grow to do these things…. it became a way of life after that… fortunately, the little one too grew up to like these things… now we enjoy the pleasures of nature’s company whenever we can.. πŸ™‚

  14. Nice wordings. Beautiful poem, didn’t know you write poems also. Keep on doing more. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.

    • Thanks Bharat!
      And wish you a new year too.. πŸ™‚

  15. great.. actually main we’re alive bt not living.. loved this poem! πŸ™‚

    • lol! true michael.. ::)

  16. That is excellent writing connecting with nature.
    – salute

    • Thanks so much… Glad you liked it.. πŸ™‚ )

  17. Your post are amazing felt within with each word

    http://soulwanderingsoul.blogspot.com/

    • I’m glad you liked it.. πŸ™‚

  18. Wow.

    • Thanks ya!


Leave a Reply

Categories

