Posted by: miilee | May 11, 2011

Holding On…


It’s a tiresome, upward climb; it’s a long and dusty road.

The sun beats down relentlessly on my unbearably heavy load.

The day feels endlessly long; the horizon, infinitely distant.

The hurdles immeasurably tall; the stitch in my side, insistent.

The urge to quit grows stronger; the chances of success get slimmer.

The light at the end of the tunnel becomes just a distant glimmer.

But even as the doors keep slamming, and the load grows heavier by the mile

I know in the end, I’ll make it through, even if I won’t get through for a while.

For even in my hour of struggle, I know I’m on the right track.

I’m sure I have what it takes; it certainly isn’t the will that I lack.

I know I’ve picked the shortest stick but I’d have it no other way.

For what seems like misfortune now, might turn in my favor someday.

Though the path gets murkier at my feet, and I feel the cold prickle of Fear.

My aim still remains unshaken, my vision stays unfogged and clear.

Responses

  1. Cowboy style…..photograph says it all miles to go….promise to keep

    • Thanks… glad you liked it… 🙂

  2. *bows-down* neat stuff ! 🙂

    • Thanks… 🙂

  3. Hi miilee — liked the optimism and courage that comes through in your poetry…especially these lines.

    I’ll make it through
    I know I’m on the right track
    I’m sure I have what it takes
    I’d have it no other way
    My aim still remains unshaken,
    my vision stays unfogged and clear 🙂

    • Glad you liked the poem… I like hanging on to hope when things look bleak.. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

